U-Haul Reviews

Sarah Doolan
9 months ago
I am so disappointed with U-Haul right now.

I am planning to move from Toronto to Montreal this Saturday and have had my 17 foot truck reserved for 5 weeks. We received a call today notifying us that our truck would no longer be available, but that we could drive to Port Hope, a town 100 km away, and get one there.

I realize that it's not the company's fault if another customer doesn't return their truck on time. However, the next part was what upset me so much!

We said we would drive 100km East to pick up the truck, and then 100 km back West to load it, before continuing our 6 hour drive as planned IF they included the extra km, as well as a coupon/ discount to make up for the extra gas we would be spending on all of this driving.

So just to reiterate, we have to drive our car all the way to Port Hope and back, as well as drive the van back to Toronto to load, BEFORE CONTINUING OUR MOVE to Montreal. So before even considering the gas price for the planned route, we would have to pay approximately an additional $150 for our personal vehicle and the truck.

When we called customer service and the regional office, they offered us the extra km and a $40 discount. FORTY DOLLARS?? ARE YOU KIDDING ME??? That won't even get my vehicle to pick up the truck, let alone back to where we originally reserved it.

Ridiculous.

Now I'm waiting until tomorrow to see if someone can help us. Shocking - there wasn't a manager to help me at the time I called.

I'm seriously hoping something gives, as this is a HUGE moving weekend and no other truck companies have available vehicles.

Good thing we've been loyal customers to this company for years now...

UPDATE: May 30, 2014 - 11:23 AM

After posting the above comment on their Facebook page and a few other outlets, I received a comment response, requesting that I forward my reservation number to a specific email address so that the problem may be investigated.
After submitting the information via email, I was notified that someone would be speaking with the regional office and that I could expect a call to sort the matter.

Shortly after, the office called and offered us another truck. We wished to reserve, but the office said they would call us back to confirm. No callback came.

After calling the following morning and waiting on hold for nearly a half hour, I asked about the details of the reservation. The representative seemed surprised that I didn't know if I even had one, let alone where it was/ for what type of truck. He confirmed that WE DO HAVE ONE! Thank goodness! And it's even in the city I originally requested.

I also asked to speak with the supervisor/ manager within the regional office. He politely declined, saying that the manager was not taking calls, but that I could leave my number and receive a callback. I pointedly addressed that the office was supposed to have called me already.

I went on to explain that I was happy to have a truck, but was not interested in leaving my number again. I did suggest that he forward my frustrations and explained that I was surprised I hadn't been offered any time of compensation for this awful experience. Only then was I notified that we would be receiving extra km and a $70 promotion.

I'm glad that they offered us some type of discount, but I look forward to seeing if it actually pans out. I still don't feel like a satisfied customer, or that my $500+ business is appreciated, especially after being a loyal customer for several decent sized moves. And I can't believe that, after multiple requests, I was never forwarded to a superior or person in charge.

The point of this extreme rant: DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!
Alicia Strain
8 months ago
I had the same issue as Jasmine- booked a truck WAY in advance only to have a call less than 24 hrs before my scheduled pick up time to find out that I had NO TRUCK! How can a business operate like this??? To add insult to injury instead of trying to assist me, they offered me $50 and sent me on my way TRUCKLESS! I had to pay DOUBLE for a smaller truck to move my things from KW to Toronto area! If you reserve a truck you should be guarenteed that reservation! I will NEVER deal with U-Haul again!!! This review doesn't even deserve 1 star!
Jasmine W
8 months ago
Absolutely atrocious customer service. I advised them of my need for a truck for 6 days and they took my reservation. When we called back into find out the height restrictions, they incorrectly booked our reservation for a truck and couldn't allow us to keep the truck. They yelled at me on the phone, told me that there was nothing they can do, wouldn't transfer me to anyone and told me I was out of luck. Do NOT book with them unless you want to be truck-less.

UPDATE: the same manager called me back and left a voice mail advising me that I am a liar for posting this review online. I don't understand the management has to time harass their customers instead of calling to advise them of changes to the promises they made.
Geoff MacGregor
5 months ago
Everything was good except the after hours drop off. They only have spots for 3 vehicles to be dropped off after hours. By 10:30 pm, there were already 4 there. You will likely end up being stuck with figuring out where to put a truck over night, and having to return at 9am in the morning. Not cool.
Katherine H
a year ago
Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They were really helpful and knowledgeable in the type and size of truck I needed for my move as well as which size storage unit I needed for all of my stuff. Prices are the reasonable, especially since it's right in downtown Toronto. Will definitely come back again for U-Haul and storage!
Philippe Adrien
2 years ago
This does not even deserve a star. I reserved for a pick-up for a truck for my move this weekend. I wanted the truck for Saturday but was told I could pick it up Friday night and return it on Saturday afternoon. I called 10 days ago to confirm and when I called again on Wednesday to re-confirm they told me they were having 'mechanical' problems with my reserved truck but would be able to find me a replacement if my reservation could not be fixed on time. When I called yesterday they assured me the truck would be ready but at the very least they would procure one from another location. When I called again today to make sure they had my truck they then informed me that I would have to go to another location and a truck would be waiting there for me. I went to the other location and was told I could only take the truck if I returned it by 7 AM Saturday morning today is Friday. I had already planned my move at 10 AM tomorrow (Saturday). This has to be the worst customer service I have ever encountered. When I relayed this information to some of my friends they all had the same reaction. NEVER deal with U-Haul. The worst part of it is I looked at the reviews on this site and still ignored them. I should have heeded all the bad reviews and never booked with this company..
Chris Metropolis
5 years ago
While the truck I rented won't win any awards for beauty or performance, or fuel efficiency (almost 1 litre/km in the city), it was spotlessly clean and the two staff members I dealt with were pleasant and helpful.

I've read the generally poor reviews that Uhaul get, but I took a chance and was pleasantly surprised. It ended up being less than half the cost of going to Budget.
A Google User
A Google User
4 years ago
The staff at this location are absolutely fantastic! Previous experiences with Uhaul have fallen short of expectations, but the folks were curteous, polite and professional. I was taken care of efficiently and all instructions (park in the lane, not on the street, and remember the gas) were given simply and in a straight-forward manner. I followed them and lo and behold I suffered no extra charges! From previous reviews I'd almost think I was at a different location! I would not hesitate to recommend this location to my friends!
A Google User
A Google User
4 years ago
I was in on a very busy day, I watched as several rude people were making comments to the staff to speed up and trying to change reservations. The staff held their composure and dealt with each person with respect and consideration for each situation. My reservation went flawless and I was explained each and every detail of my obligation and responcibility, which is the very reason it takes time with each person. So if they have a proplem in the end, they probably were not paying attention when the staff explain it thoroughly. Lighten up Folks, It's just a Truck Rental. Get a LIfe!!!!!
A Google User
A Google User
4 years ago
I ordered my 10' U-Haul Truck rental online for this location in order to move into a building on the evening of September 1st, 2010. I'd used U-Haul Trucks in the past at different locations without an issue, so I figured I was in pretty good hands. I booked out the elevator, my friends took time off of work to help out, and I had to be out of my apartment that night as well.

I walk into the rental office at 5pm September 1st, the time I was to pick up the truck, and start going through the paperwork with the very nice, and personable young man at the counter. He, afterward, tells me that I have the option of parking the car somewhere else overnight because they close the lot at 6pm, leaving only the long laneway open with 4-5 spots for returns. Parking on the street would mean a ticket. I don't think too much of this, as I don't have anywhere else to park the truck overnight so I'd obviously be coming back, and what choice did I have but to take the truck at 5:30pm on moving day?

As I arrive back at the location around 11pm that night, not only is the entire laneway full, but four other trucks are parked in the adjacent parking lot. The one you see with the U-Haul van in front of it in the picture to the right. So I park beside those trucks because I didn't have the time or money to drive around looking for a cheap place to park a moving truck for the night at 11pm on a Wednesday.

Basically, at that point your options are to spend $50.00 in mileage and extra gas, driving around trying to find a parking lot, then paying for that parking lot, in downtown Toronto, OR pay for the tickets given to the truck overnight, and have them added to your credit card as cleaning fees. This is even more disturbing considering that 1) This happens every night to at least three people and they don't see anything wrong with it, nor will the Regional Office do anything about it, and 2) The Great Canadian Storage Co. profits $100.00 in cleaning fees, because they send the tickets to U-Haul head office to be paid at no expense to them.

I've had so much backlash and trouble dealing with the location, that at this point I'm just happy to pick up the tickets myself (which have still not been mailed to head office three weeks later), and pay them myself so that nobody profits from this ridiculous Catch 22 of an arrangement.
A Google User
A Google User
4 years ago
I ordered my 10' U-Haul Truck rental online for this location in order to move into a building on the evening of September 1st, 2010. I'd used U-Haul Trucks in the past at different locations without an issue, so I figured I was in pretty good hands. I booked out the elevator, my friends took time off of work to help out, and I had to be out of my apartment that night as well.

I walk into the rental office at 5pm September 1st, the time I was to pick up the truck, and start going through the paperwork with the very nice, and personable young man at the counter. He, afterward, tells me that I have the option of parking the car somewhere else overnight because they close the lot at 6pm, leaving only the long laneway open with 4-5 spots for returns. Parking on the street would mean a ticket. I don't think too much of this, as I don't have anywhere else to park the truck overnight so I'd obviously be coming back, and what choice did I have but to take the truck at 5:30pm on moving day?

As I arrive back at the location around 11pm that night, not only is the entire laneway full, but four other trucks are parked in the adjacent parking lot. The one you see with the U-Haul van in front of it in the picture to the right. So I park beside those trucks because I didn't have the time or money to drive around looking for a cheap place to park a moving truck for the night at 11pm on a Wednesday.

Basically, at that point your options are to spend $50.00 in mileage and extra gas, driving around trying to find a parking lot, then paying for that parking lot, in downtown Toronto, OR pay for the tickets given to the truck overnight, and have them added to your credit card as cleaning fees. This is even more disturbing considering that 1) This happens every night to at least three people and they don't see anything wrong with it, nor will the Regional Office do anything about it, and 2) The Great Canadian Storage Co. profits $100.00 in cleaning fees, because they send the tickets to U-Haul head office to be paid at no expense to them.

I've had so much backlash and trouble dealing with the location, that at this point I'm just happy to pick up the tickets myself (which have still not been mailed to head office three weeks later), and pay them myself so that nobody profits from this ridiculous Catch 22 of an arrangement.
A Google User
A Google User
5 years ago
It appears this location made an unauthorized charge to my credit card of $50. I am attempting to follow up with them, but be careful with your information.
Benjamin Boileau
4 years ago
Ja Thruzed
2 years ago
Kimberly Carrington
a year ago

No comments:

Post a Comment